The 4th PSTEP International Symposium (PSTEP-4) and the 2nd ISEE Symposium
“Toward the Solar-Terrestrial Environmental Prediction as Science and Social Infrastructure”
(1st announcement)

It is our great pleasure to announce that the 4th PSTEP International Symposium (PSTEP-4) and the 2nd ISEE Symposium will be held at Nagoya University on January 28 to 30, 2020.

Project for Solar-Terrestrial Environment Prediction (PSTEP) launched in 2015 in order to improve the synergy between the basic research of solar-terrestrial environment and the forecast operation of space weather and space climate is closing on March 2020. The International Symposium PSTEP-4 and the 2nd ISEE Symposium will be organized to summarize the results of PSTEP and to promote the international research of solar-terrestrial environment prediction. The symposium will consist of invited talks and contributed (oral and poster) presentations for the following topics:

– Operational forecast of space weather
– Prediction of geo-space dynamics
– Prediction of solar storms
– Prediction of the solar cycle and the solar influence on climate

We welcome the participation and presentation of everyone who is interested in any fields related to PSTEP.

Date: January 28 (Tuesday) to 30 (Thursday), 2020

Venue: Sakata Hirata Hall in Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan

Access to Nagoya University Higashiyama Campus:

MAP of Higashiyama Campus:

Registration and abstract submission:

The online registration site is now closed.
Please contact for inquiry.

Invited Speakers:
Terry Onsager (NOAA/SWPC, USA)
Juan Americo Gonzalez Esparza (SCIESMEX, Mexico)
Jesse Andries (Royal Observatory of Belgium)
Elsayed Talaat (NOAA/SWPC,USA)
Seiji Yashiro (NASA)
KD Leka (NWRA, US & Nagoya U., Japan)
Thomas Berger (U. Colorado, US)
Valentine Multinez Pillet (NSO, US)
Richard Horne (BAS)
Tim Fuller-Rowell (U. Colorado, US)
Delores Knipp (CCA, US)
Xinlin Li (U. Colorad, US)
Joseph D. Huba (NRL, US)
Martin Connors (Athabasca University, Canada)
Jeffery J. Love (USGS, US)
Daniel Marsh (NCAR, US)
Limin Zhou (ECNU, CN)
Theodosios Chatzistergos (Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Germany)
Tobias Spiegl (FUBerlin, Germany)

To be announced.


Science organizing committee:
Kanya Kusano, Mamoru Ishii, Kiyoshi Ichimoto, Yoshizumi Miyoshi, Shigeo Yoden

Local Organizing committee:
Kanya Kusano, Shinsuke Imada, Yoshizumi Miyoshi, Kazuo Shiokawa, Haruhisa Iijima, Yuichi Otsuka, Takafumi Kaneko, Yumi Bamba, Satoshi Inoue, Sung-Hong Park

Prior symposiums:

– Project for Solar-Terrestrial Environmental Prediction (PSTEP)
Institute for Space-Earth Environmental Research (ISEE), Nagoya University